Skip to navigationSkip to content
GOOGLE GOODS

Google’s newest smartphones will be announced Oct. 9

AP Photo/Jeff Chiu
Coming soon.
  • Mike Murphy
By Mike Murphy

Technology editor

This article is more than 2 years old.

Google has sent out invites to the press for an event in New York next month for its “Made by Google” line of products.

Google

The invite, sent with this nifty little GIF, is for an Oct. 9 event that will start at 11am US Eastern time (8am US Pacific time, 4pm London time) and will be live-streamed on Google’s YouTube channel.

Google is expected to unveil the Pixel 3 and 3 XL, its latest attempts at high-end smartphones. Features on the phones have already been leaked in excruciating detail, so it’s unclear what else there will be to say. They’re expected to have a similar design to last year’s phones, with a notch added at the top for more cameras, much like Apple’s iPhone X.

The company will likely introduce other new hardware at the event. In the past, it’s shown off virtual-reality headsets, smart-home speakers, cameras, and laptops. And since last year, Alphabet moved Nest, its smart home-monitoring and security hardware company, into the same team that produces Google’s hardware, which means there’s a chance we could see some new Nest devices that work with Google’s products.

Quartz will be in attendance to document everything Google announces.

📬 Kick off each morning with coffee and the Daily Brief (BYO coffee).

By providing your email, you agree to the Quartz Privacy Policy.