Skip to navigationSkip to content

A complete list of all the countries that have grounded the Boeing 737 Max

AP Photo/Ted S. Warren
The Boeing 737 Max 8 is now grounded in most of the world.
By Natasha Frost
Published Last updated This article is more than 2 years old.

More than 50 nations have taken steps to ground the Boeing 737 Max, with restrictions ranging from banning the models from their airspace or airports to grounding any models in the fleets of airlines based in the country.

The bans come three days after one of the planes crashed on a journey from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, to Nairobi, Kenya, killing all 157 people on board. It was the second fatal crash involving the Boeing 737 Max in less than five months, prompting questions and fears about its safety. The nations are grounding both the 737 Max 8 and 9, which are two versions of the same model.

On the afternoon of March 13, following in the footsteps of dozens of other countries, the US finally moved to ground the plane, going back on an earlier FAA directive that maintained it was safe and could be flown.

The following countries have implemented some form of ban:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Cayman Islands
  • China
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

This story has been updated to include Canada and the United States’ late-stage ban.

📬 Kick off each morning with coffee and the Daily Brief (BYO coffee).

By providing your email, you agree to the Quartz Privacy Policy.