Skip to navigationSkip to content
Skip to main content Dashboard Home Comments I’ve Made Site Stats My Blogs Blogs I Follow Calendar Story Budget Omnisearch VIP VIP Resources Posts All Posts Add New Categories Tags Kicker Obsession Copy a Post Media Library Add New Pages All Pages Add New Copy a Page Daily Briefs All Daily Briefs Add New Copy a Daily Brief Notes Notes Add New Feedback Polls Ratings Feedback Queues Top Stories The Brief India Appearance Themes Customize Menus Custom Design Profile My Profile Personal Settings Settings Sharing Polls Help Screen Options Edit Post Add New Publishing Checklist Post title is required Tags are required Saved status must be Ready to Publish, if not already published or scheduled. Select one Topic Post updated. View post Enter title here Permalink: http://qz.com/287318/beyonce-is-the…f-fast-fashion/ ‎Edit View Post View API Get Shortlink Add Media Add Poll Add Poll Add Contact Form Add Embed Add LocationTextVisual Paragraph p Word count: 403 Draft saved at 7:38:00 am. Last edited by Kabir Chibber on October 27, 2014 at 6:17 am Publish Preview Status: Writing Edit Edit status Visibility: Public Edit Edit visibility Publish immediately Edit Edit date and time Publicize: Not Connected Show Move to Trash Featured Image Set featured image Tags Tags Separate tags with commas X beyonceX streetwearX fashionX topshopX catwalkX h&m Choose from the most used tags Topics All Topics Most Used Economics Finance Health and Human Behavior Lifestyle Other Topics Politics and Policy Science and Tech The Global Consumer Work and Management Kicker Kicker Separate tags with commas Choose from the most used tags Obsession Obsession Separate tags with commas Choose from the most used tags Edition Ad Options Post Subtype Post Subtype Editorial Metadata First Draft Date When the first draft needs to be ready. Assignment What the post needs to cover. Needs PhotoChecked if this post needs a photo. Word Count Required post length in words. Featured Image Size Featured Image Size Social Image Set Social Image Writing Helper Authors Click on an author to change them. Drag to change their order. Click on Remove to remove them. Kabir ChibberKabir Chibber Miscellaneous Options Remove from chronology Select Yes to remove this post from chronological archive views. It will still be accessible directly from its URL. No Yes Disable Annotations Select Yes to prevent annotations completely on this post. No Yes Content Swap Post Check if post is a content swap from another site. The post will be excluded from RSS feeds, sitemap, and search results. Yes Original URL If republishing from another site, enter the original URL here to use as the canonical URL for SEO. See http://bit.ly/H9tgJn Mark as standout Check to mark the post as standout for Google News. Guidelines at http://bit.ly/wDQA4F Yes Byline Fields Byline Type Select from the list Ticker Symbols Search for a ticker symbol or company name (Or insert a symbol.) within Ticker symbols for this post: Editorial Comments Respond to this Post Social Options Facebook Title Facebook Description Notifications Select the users and user groups that should receive notifications when the status of this post is updated or when an editorial comment is added. Users AllSelected A. Craig Copetas skyranch@gmail.com abensonqz abenson@qz.com abilyiqz alexb@qz.com Adam Epstein aepstein@qz.com Adam Pasick adam@qz.com Aimee Groth aimee@qz.com Amalia Viti av@qz.com Anis Hoffman anis@qz.com Anna Codrea‑Rado acodrea-rado@qz.com Annalisa Merelli amerelli@qz.com Arielle Duhaime-Ross arielle@qz.com bkarlqz bk@qz.com Bobby Ghosh bobbyghosh@qz.com Brian Browdie bbrowdie@qz.com ccbizqz ccarlsson@qz.com ccqz cc@qz.com cgomezqz cgomez@qz.com Christopher Mims christopher@qz.com Claudia Bracholdt cbracholdt@qz.com collinmcdonaldqz mcdonald.colin@gmail.com Commentary qzcommentary@gmail.com Dan Frommer dan@qz.com Daniel A. Medina dmedina@qz.com David Yanofsky y@qz.com deberleqz deberle@qz.com Devjyot Ghoshal dghoshal@qz.com Diksha Madhok dmadhok@qz.com dobbsqz donohoe+dobbs@gmail.com donohoeqz mdonohoe@theatlantic.com Elizabeth Lopatto elopatto@qz.com eluppinoqz eluppino@qz.com epasserqz epasser@qz.com Eric Holthaus eholthaus@qz.com Euny Hong eunyhongy@gmail.com gbaconqz grace@qz.com Gideon Lichfield g@qz.com Gina Chon gc@qz.com Gloria Dawson glonyc81@gmail.com Gwynn Guilford gguilford@qz.com Hal Straus hstraus@qz.com Heather Landy hlandy@qz.com Heather Timmons ht@qz.com Herman Wong h@qz.com Iris Mansour imansour@qz.com isenqz isen@qz.com Jackie Snow jaclynrisa@gmail.com Jacob Albert jalbert@qz.com Jake Maxwell Watts jwatts@qz.com Jason Karaian jason@qz.com Jason Lynch jlynch@qz.com jbodagerqz jbodager@qz.com Jeanne Kim jkim@qz.com Jenni Avins jenni@qz.com John McDuling john@qz.com Josh Kadis josh@alleyinteractive.com Josh Meyer jmeyer@qz.com jwestqz jwest@qz.com Kabir Chibber kchibber@qz.com Kevin J. Delaney kevin.delaney@gmail.com Krish Raghav kraghav@qz.com Laura Lorenzetti llorenzetti@qz.com Lauren Alix Brown laurenalixbrown@gmail.com Lauren Davidson ldavidson@qz.com Leo Mirani leo@qz.com Lily Kuo m.lilkuo@gmail.com Mark DeCambre mark@qz.com Matt Phillips matthew.samuel.phillips@gmail.com Max Nisen max@qz.com mchamberlainqz mchamberlain@qz.com mhayesqz mhayes@qz.com micahwave micahwave@gmail.com Michael Donohoe donohoe@gmail.com Michael Silverberg msilverberg@qz.com mlagnesebizqz mlagnese@nationaljournal.com mlagneseqz mlagnese@qz.com mmabantaqz mm@qz.com mobrienqz mobrien@qz.com Nandagopal J. Nair nnair@qz.com Naomi Rovnick donohoe+rovnick@gmail.com Newley Purnell npurnell@qz.com Nick Stockton nstockton@qz.com Nikhil Sonnad n@qz.com P. Boom Boom alemam.m@gmail.com Papa Kwaku Osei posei@qz.com pelkinsqz peter@qz.com Philip A. Stephenson p@qz.com Quartz qzdotcom@gmail.com Rachel Feltman Rachel@qz.com Richard Macauley rm@qz.com Ritchie King ritchiesking@gmail.com Roberto A. Ferdman rferdman@qz.com Ronald Brownstein slerner@qz.com Roya Wolverson roya@qz.com S. Mitra Kalita smkalita@gmail.com Sam Williams sam@qz.com Saptarishi Dutta sdutta@qz.com Sara Lerner sara@qz.com Shelly Walia swalia@qz.com Shruti Chakraborty schakraborty@qz.com Simone Foxman simonefoxman@gmail.com Siraj Datoo siraj@qz.com Sonali Kohli skohli@qz.com Sruthijith KK sruthijith@gmail.com Stefan Constantinescu stefan@qz.com Stephanie Gruner Buckley stephanie@qz.com Steve LeVine stevlevine@gmail.com Sunil B.S. sunil@qz.com Svati Kirsten Narula svati@qz.com Theo Francis tfrancis@qz.com Theresa Bradley tb@qz.com Thomas McBee thomas@qz.com thowardqz tessa@qz.com Tim Fernholz timatquartz@gmail.com Todd Woody todd.woody+qzwp@gmail.com vjohariqz vjohari@qz.com Yitz Jordan yitz@qz.com Zach Coleman zcoleman@qz.com Zach Wener-Fligner zwener-fligner@qz.com Zachary M. Seward zach.seward+wordpress@gmail.com Zainab Mudallal zmudallal@qz.com User Groups Copy Editors Making sure the quality is top-notch. Photographers Capturing the story visually. Reporters Out in the field, writing stories. Section Editors Providing feedback and direction. Thank you for creating with WordPress • Support • Forums • Learn WordPress — Tutorials and Walkthroughs Skip to toolbar WordPress.com Current blog avatar Quartz Stats Kabir New Post Log Out Close media panel Set Featured Image Set Featured Image Upload FilesMedia Library Filter by typeFilter by dateSearch Media ATTACHMENT DETAILS rtr43kt9.jpg October 27, 2014 283 kB 2390 × 1450 Edit Image Delete Permanently URLTitleCaptionAlt TextDescription Credit Disable Zoom Force Caption Below Set featured image
Reuters/Mario Anzuoni
She sneezed on the beat, and the beat got sicker. Let’s see if she can do the same for your yoga pants.
FLAWLESS

Beyonce wants to upgrade your sweatpants game

Kabir Chibber
By Kabir Chibber

Journalist

Beyonce is teaming up with Britain’s Topshop—beloved on both sides of the pond for its incredibly fast copies of catwalk fashions—to produce a line of athletic streetwear. ”I have always loved Topshop for its fashion credentials and forward thinking,” the singer and fashion icon said. “Working with its development team to create and produce a technical and fashion-led collection is exciting and I’m looking forward to participating in all aspects of this partnership.”

Both Beyonce and Philip Green, the boss of Topshop’s parent company, emphasized the word “partnership” to indicate that their joint venture—each side owns 50% of Parkwood Topshop Athletic—is something more than the celebrity- and fashion-driven annual collections that other fast fashion brands have used to distinguish themselves. Sweden’s H&M has been a leader in this space—Karl Lagerfeld, Lanvin, and Isabel Marant are some of the names at the cutting edge of high fashion that have made one-off collections in recent years; Japan’s Uniqlo created a +J line with Jil Sander; and Topshop itself has a sporadic “Kate Moss for Topshop” collection. All of these have been monster hits from their brands.

Beyonce’s star power is a driver, but so is the choice to place the line within the growing category of clothes known as “soft dressing.” “We have been looking at this category as fashion-inspired fitness develops, and know that this is right in our customers’ heartland,” Green said. Beyonce seems to be mixing the best of two prevailing trends with her new line. On one hand, stylish clothes for sweating in, as pioneered by brands such as yoga-wear queen LululemonGap’s CEO declared fitness-inspired wear as “the new denim” recently. And on the other, high-end streetwear as pioneered by niche designers such as Alexander Wang and beloved by the likes of Rihanna, Beyonce and her husband, the rapper Jay Z. Speaking of Wang, his new one-off collaboration with H&M launches imminently and features… athletic streetwear.

The last major business move from Beyonce’s Parkwood Entertainment, described at by its general manager as “a management, music, and production company that is owned and at the highest level operated by an artist,” was to drop her eponymous album last year with no advance warning. And that bold move didn’t do too badly. A Harvard Business School case study of the album launch suggested it was part of a trend of using “blockbuster” events to grab the public’s fickle attentions in a crowded music marketplace.

Let’s see if Beyonce can shake up the world of fast fashion just as much.

Subscribe to the Daily Brief, our morning email with news and insights you need to understand our changing world.