Skip to navigationSkip to content
Apple CEO Tim Cook introduces the new Apple Watch on Tuesday, Sept. 9, 2014, in Cupertino, Calif. Apple's new wearable device marks the company's first major entry in a new product category since the iPad's debut in 2010. (AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez)
AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez
It’s a big thing.
SET YOUR WATCH

How to watch today’s Apple event live

By Dan Frommer

Apple will likely reveal new details about the Apple Watch—and potentially a new MacBook Air—today at an event in California. Here’s how to tune in:

  • The event is scheduled to begin at 1am Hong Kong time, 1pm Eastern time, and 5pm London time.
  • Apple will stream live video from the event. It is already advertising the live stream link, which can be accessed from apple.com.
  • There’s a catch: Apple’s live stream requires semi-recent Apple technology. As its site explains, “Live streaming video requires Safari 5.1.10 or later on OS X v10.6.8 or later; Safari on iOS 6.0 or later. Streaming via Apple TV requires second- or third-generation Apple TV with software 6.2 or later.”
  • Another catch: The stream isn’t always reliable.
  • Quartz will be in attendance and is covering the event live. Other tech news sites also provide elaborate live blogs, including photographs. The Verge and Recode usually do a good job.

Quartz will provide fast and thorough analysis. Stay tuned to our Apple index page for the latest.