Skip to navigationSkip to content
HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIDE

Facebook’s newest feature tries to help you through your breakup

Facebook.
Never, ever getting back together.
  • Mike Murphy
By Mike Murphy

Technology editor

Published Last updated This article is more than 2 years old.

Breaking up is hard to do, but if you’re struggling through the end of a relationship, Facebook will be there for you. The social network announced today (Nov. 19) that it will now let users “take a break” from seeing posts about their ex, which is probably the same phrase that started that conversation in the first place.

When users change their relationship status back to single, Facebook will now give them the option to see fewer posts from their former flame. They can also limit what their ex will see about them, and even edit past posts that the two of them are tagged in, rewriting history, Politburo-style. But a simpler option has existed pretty much since the creation of Facebook that users could also try out: They could just unfriend their ex.

Facebook

But if you’re determined to stay friends with your ex, Facebook said in a blog post that it’s started to test the feature on its mobile app in the US. The company is testing the feature with a small number of users, and plans to expand access outside the US early next year.

If you pair Facebook’s new feature with The Breakup Shop—a new service that’s basically Uber for the emotionally stunted—you could end your relationship and never hear or see anything about your ex with the tap of two buttons. The future is a cold and lonely place.

📬 Kick off each morning with coffee and the Daily Brief (BYO coffee).

By providing your email, you agree to the Quartz Privacy Policy.