The hottest ticket in Silicon Valley last night was a celebrity-packed gala for the hard sciences

Glamor in action.
Glamor in action.
Image: AP/Peter Barreras
We may earn a commission from links on this page.

Last night (Nov. 8), celebrities including Christina Aguilera, Russell Crowe, and Hilary Swank joined some of the US tech industry’s most powerful names on the red carpet, all in the name of particle physics.

The Breakthrough Prize, now in its fifth year, was created by tech industry bigwigs to promote the hard sciences to the public, by dressing it up in a tux and calling the paparazzi.

The prizes’ internet industry founders Mark Zuckerberg and Pricilla Chan, Sergey Brin, Anne Wojcicki, Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang, and Yuri and Julia Milner awarded a total of $21.9 million on Sunday night to a group of mathematicians, geneticists, neuroscientists, and physicists who might otherwise be unknown outside of their respective fields.

Also called the “Oscars of Science,” the event was held this year at a NASA research center in Mountainview, California. It featured Seth MacFarlane as the host (sample joke from last year: “The Breakthrough Prize is like other award shows, but without so much thanking God.”), and Pharrell as the musical guest. “To me, science is a continuous journey for understanding all that is,” he told the audience of CEOs, scientists, and movie stars.

Winners this year included:

National Geographic broadcast the event live and streamed it on its website, where it also posted photos of its red carpet attendees. Maybe someday its prizewinners will be just as famous.