Who are the G20 countries?

The G20 is made up of 19 countries and the European Union; Spain is a permanent invited guest to the group’s meetings. The group was created in 1999; heads of state or government from member countries have been gathering once a year since 2008, when they called an emergency meeting to figure out how to deal with the global financial crisis. These are the 19 member nations:

Each year, the host country is also allowed to invite other countries to attend—Argentina chose Chile and the Netherlands. Delegates from Rwanda, Singapore, Senegal, and Jamaica will also be in Buenos Aires, representing regional groups.

Other guests include Christine Lagarde, from the International Monetary Fund, António Guterres from the United Nations, and the World Bank’s Jim Yong Kim.

You can keep up with the G20 summit 2018 live, here.

📬 Sign up for the Daily Brief

Our free, fast, and fun briefing on the global economy, delivered every weekday morning.