Apple Pay is expanding to Canada and Australia later this year

Apple CEO Tim Cook announced a big expansion for its mobile payments service.
Apple CEO Tim Cook announced a big expansion for its mobile payments service.
Image: REUTERS/Robert Galbraith
We may earn a commission from links on this page.

Apple Pay is expanding to five more countries by the end of 2016, Apple CEO Tim Cook said during the tech giant’s conference call Tuesday discussing its earnings results.

In a partnership with American Express, Apple’s digital payment service is expanding to Australia and Canada by the end of this year. And next year, Apple will be adding Apple Pay in Singapore, Hong Kong, and Spain.

The announcement is the first multi-country expansion for Apple’s mobile payments service, which allows users to make payments in stores by simply waving newer Apple devices in front of readers. The service launched in the US in October 2014. Apple expanded it to the UK in July 2015.

What’s notable is that Apple Pay’s international rollout is with American Express, meaning only American Express cardholders will be able to use the service in these countries. (When the Apple Pay launched in the US and UK, Apple partnered with a wide range of credit card companies and banks, among them American Express, Visa and Mastercard.)

Cook didn’t mention any other company during the earnings call. It’s unknown whether or not Visa, MasterCard, and Discover customers will be able to use Apple Pay in those countries at a later date.

Quartz has asked for Apple, Visa and Mastercard for comment. And will update this post once we hear from them.

For more coverage on Apple’s Q4 earnings, check out our live charts here.